Tags

, , , , , , ,

This past weekend I took a risk. My New Year’s resolution for 2014 was to not cut my hair or dye it. The last time I did dye it was October of last year, so really, I was going strong. But, despite everyone saying they liked the way my hair looked, the mousy orangish-copper ombre effect that was happening was just NOT working for me. So, I decided to dye my hair purple. Like, I physically wanted purple hair. I’ve done a dark purple color before, but this time I wanted some serious purple action going on. Instead of buying box dye, I went to the beauty store and bought professional hair dye. Dark Violet Blonde by DaVinci to be exact. I couldn’t do it myself, but my mom took cosmetology many years back so I conned her into doing it. I was so scared of what might happen since my hair was literally at least 5 different colors, but hey, sometimes you need a change and in order for that to happen, you need to take a risk.

And I must say… I couldn’t be happier with the results. It wasn’t that prominent out-there purple that I had hoped for, but that subtle purple-when-caught-in-the-light look is just as good for me!

Here is the before and after:

IMG_20140810_170648The natural ombre of my hair took the dye color in an interesting direction and I have to say I love it. Definitely happy with the change and the risk payed off! Now get out there and try something new – you never know what will happen until you do!

IMG_20140811_085512